State Team‎ > ‎

State Team Training

Following the State Team Trials, the State Team Coaches will invite the top 12 performing students to continue training with the State Debating Squad for the next few weeks. Following the training process for the State Debating Squad, the WA State Debating Team Selection Panel will select the top four performing students to compete as the WA State Debating team. 

The WA State Debating Team will then continue with an intensive training program before the National Schools Debating Championship. This training program is carefully designed by the State Team Coaches and involves master classes with experienced WADL Adjudicators, practice debates with successful tertiary debaters and general knowledge sessions. 

2017 State Debating Squad

The members of the 2017 WA State Debating Square are as follows (in no particular order):
  • Xavier Hill Wilson (Shenton College)
  • Madeleine Hanlin (Methodist Ladies' College)
  • Eliza Smith (St Hilda's ASG)
  • Luke Button (Eastern Hills SHS)
  • Felix Jones (Scotch College)
  • Christopher-John Daudu (All Saints' College)
  • Natasha Tonga (Shenton College)
  • Isabel Boogaerdt (Perth Modern School)
  • Jannah Teo (South Coast Baptist College)
  • Orlagh Latawski (Perth Modern School)
  • Ava Cadee (Presbyterian Ladies' College)
  • Christopher Ivison (All Saints' College)
  • Sidharth Bhargavan (Scotch College)